Happy birthday to the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Kelley Armstrong

Photo by Kathryn Hollinrake

Canadian Kelley Armstrong’s first novel Bitten, the initial book of Women Of The Otherworld, was published in 2001. The immensely popular series last novel was Thirteen (2012), though it continued with short fiction and novellas, finally culminating with the novella Driven (2016). The seventh book No Humans Involved (2007) was Armstrong’s first New York Times best-seller. For three seasons from 2014 to 2016, the Canadian channel Space adapted Bitten into a popular television series.

In 2007, Armstrong began her second series, Nadia Stafford, with Exit Strategy. 2008’s The Summoning started The Darkest Powers trilogy. The second volume of the series The Awakening (2009) achieved a number one status on the New York Times best-seller list. She followed that series in 2011 with the sequel trilogy The Darkness Rising. The third book in that series The Rising (2013) won the prestigious Prix Aurora Award.

Armstrong started the Cainsville series in 2013, which is comprised of five novels (Omens [2013], Visions [2014], Deceptions [2015], Betrayals [2016], Rituals [2017]) and the young adult The Age Of Legends with Sea Of Shadows (2014), Empire Of Night (2015), and Forest Of Ruin (2016). Other series include Otherworld: Kate and Logan (Wolf’s Bane [2019], Wolf’s Curse [2020]) and the middle-grade fantasy series Blackwell Pages Trilogy (as K. L. Armstrong co-authored with Melissa Marr; Loki’s Wolves [2013], Odin’s Ravens [2014], Thor’s Serpents [2015]).

Cover by Elizabeth Story

Current series include A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying (A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying [2019], The Gryphon’s Lair [2020], The Serpent’s Fury [2021], The Final Trial [2022]), A Stitch in Time (A Stitch in Time [2020], A Twist of Fate [2021], A Turn of the Tide ]2022], A Castle in the Air [2023]), Cursed Luck (Cursed Luck [2021], High Jinx [2021]), Rockton (City of the Lost [2017], A Darkness Absolute [2017], This Fallen Prey [2018], Watcher in the Woods [2019], Alone in the Wild [2020]), and A Rip Through Time (A Rip Through Time [2022], The Poisoner’s Ring [2023], Cocktails & Chloroform [2023]). Her standalone novels include The Masked Truth (2016), Missing (2017), Aftermath (2018), Indigo (2017 with Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris, Tim Lebbon, Jonathan Maberry, Seanan McGuire, James A. Moore, Mark Morris, Cherie Priest, and Kat Richardson), Wherever She Goes (2019), Every Step She Takes (2020), and Hemlock Island (2023).

Her short stories have been collected in several books including Men of the Otherworld (2010), Tales of the Otherworld (2012), Otherworld Nights (2014), Darkest Powers Tales (2015), LED ASTRAY: THE BEST OF KELLEY ARMSTRONG (2015), Otherworld Chills (2016), The Complete Darkest Powers Tales (2017), Portents (2018), and Dreaming Darkness: Volumes 1-3 (2020, 2021, 2022). Alongside Melissa Marr, Armstrong edited the anthologies Enthralled: Paranormal Diversions (2011) and Shards & Ashes (2013).

All of us at Tachyon, wish the extraordinary Kelley a happy birthday! Beware the creatures of the night. They bite!