Happy birthday to the extraordinary Kate Elliott

Photo by April Quintanilla

Following the disappointing sales of her acclaimed first books The Labyrinth Gate (1988) and the Highroad trilogy (A Passage of Stars, Revolution’s Shore, and The Price of Ransom, all published in 1990), Alis A. Rassmussen assumed the pen name Kate Elliott and began a string of bestselling, groundbreaking works with the popular Jaran series (Jaran [1992], An Earthly Crown [1993], His Conquering Sword [1993], The Law of Becoming [1994]).

Cover by Julie Dillon
Design by Elizabeth Story

She has garnered innumerable fans with the series Crown of Stars (King’s Dragon [1997], Prince of Dogs [1998], The Burning Stone [1999], Child of Flame [2000] The Gathering Storm [2003], In the Ruins [2005], Crown of Stars [2006]), Crossroads (Spirit Gate [2006], Shadow Gate [2008], Traitors’ Gate [2009]), Spiritwalker (Cold Magic [2010], Cold Fire [2011], Cold Steel [2013]), Court of Fives (Court of Fives [2015], Poisoned Blade [2016], Buried Heart [2017]), and The Sun Chronicles (Unconquerable Sun (2020) and Furious Heaven (2023). She penned the Magic: The Gathering novel The Wildered Quest (2019) and Servant Mage (2022). Other novels include Black Wolves (2015) and The Keeper’s Six (2023). Many of her shorter works were collected in THE VERY BEST OF KATE ELLIOTT (2015).

Elliott received her first World Fantasy Award nomination for The Golden Key (1996; co-written with Melanie Rawn and Jennifer Roberson). King’s Dragon, the first volume of her The Crown Of Stars septology, received a Nebula Award nomination for best novel. Her first young adult novel Court Of Fives was nominated for the Andre Norton Award.

All of us at Tachyon wish the amazing Alis a magical birthday.