In her newest short fiction collection MIDNIGHT CIRCUS, beloved fantasy author Jane Yolen’s dark side has fully emerged

“Jane Yolen is the Hans Christian Andersen of America” —The New York Times

Welcome to the MIDNIGHT CIRCUS—and watch your step. The dark imaginings of fantasy icon Jane Yolen are not for the faint of heart. In these sixteen brilliantly unnerving tales and poems, Central Park becomes a carnival where you can—but probably should not—transform into a wild beast. The Red Sea will be deadly to cross due to a plague of voracious angels. Meanwhile, the South Pole is no place for even a good man, regardless of whether he is living or dead.

Wicked, solemn, chilling, and droll, the circus is ready for your visit—you just really won’t want to arrive late.

The Midnight Circus

by Jane Yolen

ISBN: Book ISBN: 9781616963408; Digital ISBN: 9781616963415
Published: October 2020
Available Format(s): Trade Paperbacks and Digital


  • Introduction by Theodora Goss
  • The Weaver of Tomorrow
  • The White Seal Maid
  • Snatchers
  • Wilding
  • Requiem Antarctica (with Robert J. Harris)
  • Nightwolves
  • The House of the Seven Angels
  • Great Gray
  • Little Red (with Adam Stemple)
  • Winter’s King
  • Inscription
  • Dog Boy Remembers
  • The Fisherman’s Wife
  • Become a Warrior
  • An Infestation of Angels
  • Names