Happy birthday to the award-winning Nina Kiriki Hoffman

Photo by Lee Schoen

The acclaimed Nina Kiriki Hoffman began selling short stories in the late 1970s and after co-writing with Tad Williams Child of an Ancient City (1992), she finally published the first of her many solo novels The Thread That Binds the Bones in 1993, which garnered her a Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a First Novel. She followed the first of what became known as the Chapel Hollow series with The Silent Strength of Stones (1995) and Spirits That Walk in Shadow (2006). Hoffman’s Haunted House & Nathan the Ghost books are comprised of A Red Heart of Memories (1999), Past The Size of Dreaming (2001), and A Stir of Bones (2003). Thresholds (2010) and Meeting (2011) make up Magic Next Door duology. The Lazelle sequence consists of A Fistful of Sky (2002) and Fall of Light (2009). Alongside series creator R. L. Stine, she co-wrote three volumes of Ghosts of Fear Street: Body Switchers from Outer Space (#14; 1996), Why I’m Not Afraid of Ghosts (#23; 1997), and I Was A Sixth Grade Zombie (#30; 1998). Dean Wesley Smith, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, and Hoffman crafted the Star Trek: Voyager novel Echoes (1998). Other books include CATALYST (2006) and The Other Side Secret (2015).

Her many short stories, including the Nebula award-winning “Trophy Wives” have been collected in several volumes: Legacy of Fire (1990), Permeable Borders (2012), Faint Heart, Foul Lady (2014), Antiquities (2015), Wild Talents (2015), The Skeleton Key and Bright Streets Of Air (2015), Savage Breasts and Other Misbehaving Body Parts (2016), Short, Sharp Snacks (2018), Short, Sharp Snacks Volume 2 (2022) and others. In the early 1990s when there were too many Hoffman stories in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction‘s inventory, she adopted the Robin Aurelian pseudonym. Those tales, many of which are far stranger than the stories written under her own name, were collected in Stories My Pseudonym Wrote (2020).

Cover by Ann Monn

Alongside Dean Wesley Smith, Hoffman edited the anthologies Silent Music (1987), Christmas Guests (2002), and Eating Our Way Through Christmas (2003).

All of us at Tachyon wish the impressive Nina an awesome birthday.