Tachyon tidbits featuring Ellen Datlow, John Picacio, Charlie Jane Anders, Kameron Hurley, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Nancy Kress, Tim Powers, and Brandon Sanderson

The latest reviews and mentions of Tachyon titles and authors from around the web.

LOCUS MAGAZINE announced the winners of their annual awards with Ellen Datlow nabbing the Best Editor and John Picacio for Best Artist. Check out LOCUS for the complete award list. Congratulations to all the winners.

Congratulations to Charlie Jane Anders (The City in the Middle of the Night) and Kameron Hurley (The Light Brigade) for making the 34th Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist.

The shortlist for the 34th Arthur C. Clarke Award is:

  • The City in the Middle of the Night  – Charlie Jane Anders
  • The Light Brigade – Kameron Hurley
  • A Memory Called Empire – Arkady Martine
  • The Old Drift – Namwali Serpell
  • Cage of Souls – Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • The Last Astronaut — David Wellington

GALAXY PRESS shared the news: Writers and Illustrators of the Future Announces a Combined Event with the 36th and 37th Annual Award-Winners in 2021. Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Nancy Kress, Tim Powers, and Brandon Sanderson number among the judges for the annual.

As the top names in the science fiction and fantasy world, Contest judges include Kevin J. Anderson, Doug Beason, Gregory Benford, Orson Scott Card, David Farland, Eric Flint, Brian Herbert, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Nancy Kress, Katherine Kurtz, Todd McCaffrey, Rebecca Moesta, Larry Niven, Jody Lynn Nye, Nnedi Okorafor, Tim Powers, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Brandon Sanderson, Robert J. Sawyer, Robert Silverberg, Dean Wesley Smith, and Sean Williams. Illustrator judges include Laura Freas Beraha, Echo and Lazarus Chernik, Ciruelo, Vincent Di Fate, Diane Dillon, Bob Eggleton, Craig Elliott, Larry Elmore, Val Lakey Lindahn, Stephan Martiniere, Gary Meyer, Mike Perkins, Sergey Poyarkov, Rob Prior, Dan dos Santos, Shaun Tan, and Stephen Youll.

Every quarter, three writers and three illustrators are selected by a panel of leading authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy. With no entry fee and judging done on an anonymous basis, the criterion is strictly merit. Beside first time publication, benefits include over $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties, a week-long workshop with top professionals of the genre as well as book signings, radio, and TV interviews organized by the Contest administrators to assist the winners in launching their careers

Writers of the Future Event 2019